Board of Directors

Ryan Chrouser - President - rjchrouser@uwalumni.com

A native of Wisconsin, and a graduate of the University of Wisconsin with a degree in Zoology. Current President of the WDS.

Freda van den Broek - Vice President - fredavdb@gmail.com

Vice-president of the WDS and editor of the Wisconsin Odonata News, the WDS newsletter; Wisconsin Master Naturalist volunteer and graduate of the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa (International Relations). Dragonfly enthusiast since 2013

Carey Chrouser - Secretary - clchrouser@gmail.com

Carey has been a member of the society since 2012. She has earned her BA from UW-Eau Claire and her MS from UW-Stout. She is interested in increasing people's curiosity in nature.

Matt Berg - Treasurer - saintcroixdfly@gmail.com

WDS’s treasurer since the group’s inception, high school teacher, free-lance research biologist, and budding underwater photographer. In addition to Odonates, he’s passionate about bird and freshwater mussel conservation, and working with lake organizations to protect aquatic ecosystems. A 1995 and 2004 graduate of UW-Eau Claire, he lives in St. Croix Falls on the beautiful and odonate rich St. Croix River.

Bob DuBois - Board Member/Past President - Robert.Dubois@wisconsin.gov

Research Scientist in aquatic ecology with the Wisconsin Department of Resources. BS - Cornell University; MSE – University of Wisconsin-Superior. WDS founder and first President. Dragonfly Society of the Americas current President. Odonata educator, speaker and field guide author.

Dan Jackson - Board Member - DEJackson2256@gmail.com

Native of the Coulee Region of Western Wisconsin with a lifelong passion for nature. Avid birder and nature photographer. Past President of the WDS. Treasurer and past President (10 years) of the Coulee Region Audubon Society in La Crosse.

Joanne Kline - Board Member - joanne@klines.org

Ken Tennessen - Board Member - ktennessen@centurytel.net

Wisconsin native. Past President of Dragonfly Society of the Americas. Ph.D. in entomology, University of Florida. Expert on nymph identification.

Julie Pleski - Board Member - jpleski@yahoo.com

Jenn Callaghan - Board Member - jcallaghan@urbanecologycenter.org

Jennifer Callaghan fell in love with odonates in college while taking a field biology course from WDS founder, Bob DuBois. Since then, she has enjoyed her passion for monitoring the dragons and damsels of the Milwaukee County area and educating people about the splendor of these creatures. Jennifer is the Coordinator of Research and Community Science at the Urban Ecology Center and joined the WDS board in 2017.

Jeff Fischer - Board Member - ecobirder@gmail.com

Dragonfly enthusiast, Minnesota Master Naturalist Volunteer, Board Member of the Minnesota Dragonfly Society, nature photographer.

The Wisconsin Dragonfly Society promotes and encourages the conservation of Wisconsin's dragonflies and damselflies.